Sweet Potato Chips in the Dehydrator

My uncle got me a dehydrator for a gift a couple years ago and it is such a wonderful kitchen gadget! This and my bread machine are my all time favorite kitchen appliances. Here in Alaska I foresee this being extremely useful during berry season! (I’ll be looking for berry recipe ideas my friends!) Remember, all my recipes can be customized to your liking.. part of learning to cook is learning what NOT to do! I had my fair share! 🙂

0403172019

Ingredients:

  • 1 large sweet potato, thin sliced using a mandolin
  • olive oil to coat the pieces or melted coconut oil (your preference)
  • cinnamon for dusting

Note: opt for other spices such as smoked paprika, sea salt or even cayenne!

Directions:

  1. Thin slice the sweet potatoes and place into a bowl of room temperature water. Soak potato slices for 1-2 hours to help reduce the starchiness.
  2. Drain potatoes and pat dry on a paper towel. You can either place back into a bowl or a plastic bag with enough oil to slightly coat the slices. Sprinkle cinnamon all over pieces. I ended up dusting them again once placed onto the dehydrator trays, cinnamon is good for you supposedly!
  3. Crank up the dehydrator to 145 degrees. Lay out slices on the trays ensuring that they are not touching each other. Place dehydrator trays back on unit.
  4. I cooked mine for 5 hours and they were perfect for me since I sliced them so thin. You can go longer if you want more of a crispy chip, up to 12 hours. However, I would recommend trying it every hour or so after the 5 hour mark to make sure you don’t over do it.

**Please leave a “like” on this recipe page if you enjoy this recipe! Thank you!**

One Comment Add yours

  1. chefkreso says:

    Great snack 😄

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

